Topic: ESMA

FCA confirms synthetic Libor “at least for 2022” – but ESMA warns over incompatibility

The UK Financial Conduct Authority has confirmed it will allow the temporary use of ‘synthetic’ sterling and yen Libor rates after the looming December deadline for the benchmark’s cessation – but EU regulators have warned the synthetic is not compatible with their benchmark rules.

24 November 2021

EU regulators step up SREP for investment firms

Two EU regulators have outlined their plans for investment firms’ supervisory review and evaluation process, including a new scoring system for EU banks and additional own funds requirements.

22 November 2021

EBA set to classify MMFs as shadow banks

The European Banking Authority has called on financial market participants to consider money market funds as shadow banks, as division emerges over fellow EU regulator the European Securities and Markets Authority’s proposal to revamp their liquidity buffers.

28 July 2021

“Baffled” AMF rejects ESMA disapproval of liquidity contracts practice

France’s financial regulator has said it will plough ahead with proposals to revise its accepted market practice for liquidity contracts, despite last month’s negative review from the EU’s securities and markets regulator.

30 June 2021

French regulator’s liquidity contracts proposals threaten market confidence, ESMA says

The EU’s securities regulator has criticised proposed Market Abuse Regulation exemptions issued by France’s Financial Markets Authority, citing concerns that limits on volume and resources would undermine market confidence.

02 June 2021

Dutch central bank recruits ESMA chair

The Dutch government has hired the head of the European Union’s securities regulator to lead its banking supervision department.

25 March 2021

ESMA taps French regulator for new director

Europe’s securities regulator has gone to France’s financial watchdog for its next executive director.

17 March 2021

ESMA “dancing around the issue” with post-Wirecard transparency proposals

The European securities watchdog is “dancing around the issues” in its new proposals to overhaul the EU Transparency Directive in order to avoid advocating for the expansion of its own mandate, an economist has said.

09 March 2021

EU opens CSDR buy-in regime to the floor

The European Commission has opened the door to amending its central securities depository regulation (CSDR), following industry criticisms over a controversial rule implementing mandatory buy-ins and cash penalties for settlement failures.

09 December 2020

EU unmoved on derivatives obligation, leaving UK to “sort out its own mess”

EU regulator ESMA has refused to budge on rules that will disallow derivatives trading on UK venues once the Brexit transition period ends, leaving the UK at risk of losing its dominance of the multi-trillion dollar global derivatives market.

26 November 2020

Get unlimited access to all Global Banking Regulation Review content