Topic: European Banking Authority

EU regulators step up SREP for investment firms

Two EU regulators have outlined their plans for investment firms’ supervisory review and evaluation process, including a new scoring system for EU banks and additional own funds requirements.

22 November 2021

EBA targets bank licensing in latest harmonisation move

The European Banking Authority has released new banking licence guidelines in a bid to standardise the authorisation procedure across the bloc’s member states.

15 November 2021

Regulators in Danske scandal voted to decide their own fate, record shows

Denmark and Estonia, the two countries at the heart of the €200 billion money laundering scandal at Danske Bank, participated in a vote that determined whether the European Banking Authority carried out an investigation into internal failings at the bank.

01 November 2021

“Diluting the framework”: EU divided over Basel implementation

Over two dozen of Europe’s national regulators and central banks have warned the European Commission against introducing any EU-specific deviations from the Basel III framework.

09 September 2021

EBA seeks to centralise AML compliance norm-setting

The EBA has proposed new guidelines that lay out its expectations of firms’ anti-money laundering compliance officers, set to be the first of their kind and which it says will streamline compliance across the EU.

04 August 2021

EBA set to classify MMFs as shadow banks

The European Banking Authority has called on financial market participants to consider money market funds as shadow banks, as division emerges over fellow EU regulator the European Securities and Markets Authority’s proposal to revamp their liquidity buffers.

28 July 2021

ECJ upholds EBA product guidelines, overruling advocate-general

The European Court of Justice has ruled that the EU’s top banking regulator did not act beyond its powers by issuing guidelines on banking products, pushing aside an opinion from its advocate-general calling for them to be declared invalid.

19 July 2021

National authorities must cooperate more, say EBA standards

The European Banking Authority has finalised its standards for supervisory colleges to coordinate national regulators’ supervision of investment firms operating within multiple EU member states.

07 July 2021

EBA to remedy “divergent” treatment of third country branches

The European Banking Authority has proposed centralising equivalence assessments for new third country bank branches, to remedy what it sees as “considerable” divergence in the bloc.

30 June 2021

Fragmentation concerns raised over EU’s climate disclosure approach

Japanese and US banking industry bodies have warned that ambitious EU moves towards sustainability disclosures – including a newly-finalised taxonomy and new standards for Pillar 3 disclosures – risk creating a fragmented global framework and “exporting” its model to non-EU institutions.

07 June 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Banking Regulation Review content