Topic: European Commission

EU agrees MiCA framework

The EU’s legislative bodies have reached agreement on the bloc’s regulatory framework for markets in crypto assets, placing stablecoins under EBA supervision and requiring their issuers to be EU-domiciled.

04 July 2022

“Not enthusiastic, to put it mildly”: digital euro plans face public unease

The European Commission’s consultation on a potential digital euro has now closed, but responses show widespread opposition to the suggestion of a European CBDC.

23 June 2022

EU pilots crypto regulatory exemption regime

After a two-year legislative process, the European Union has finally piloted an “out of character” EU-wide sandbox that will grant some crypto firms “momentous” regulatory exemptions.

08 June 2022

EU begins PSD2 reassessment and open banking consultation

The European Commission has set the ball rolling on a review of PSD2, alongside a new consultation on its open banking and data sharing framework – but some industry voices have said its plans do not go far enough for open finance’s needs.

12 May 2022

EU bans high-value crypto services to Russians in latest sanctions round

The European Union has followed through on its promises to ban “high-value crypto-asset services” to Russians, as a part of its fifth package of sanctions following Russia’s invasion of Ukraine.

13 April 2022

EU banks set to disclose “adverse impacts” under new SFDR standards

The European Commission has become the latest body to address climate risk reporting at banks, less than a week after the ISSB issued its draft global standards for sustainability disclosures.

07 April 2022

Abu Dhabi to launch “world's first” carbon credit trading exchange

The financial regulator of the Abu Dhabi Global Market will develop what it calls the "world's first" regulated carbon credit trading exchange and clearing house, as its EU and Hong Kong counterparts place renewed emphasis on carbon markets.

30 March 2022

EU promises "resolute action" against potential crypto loopholes in Russia sanctions

The European Commission has told GBRR it is ready to adopt additional measures to prevent Russian banks using crypto assets to evade its sanctions regime.

07 March 2022

UK Treasury moves to scrap share trading obligation after review

The UK Treasury has confirmed the abolition of regulations including the share trading obligation following the response to its post-Brexit Wholesale Markets Review.

07 March 2022

Kleptocracy in the UK: regulation and lawyers at fault, report says

Despite progress on paper, the UK remains a safe haven for dirty money and kleptocrats, a Chatham House report says, recommending the country follow the United States’ lead in reporting all transactions of politically exposed persons.

09 December 2021

Get unlimited access to all Global Banking Regulation Review content